You know to be perfectly honest, before I tested out this application, I never really knew what Silverlight was.  All I knew is that it helped me play videos on my Mac that were made for Windows.  That was the extent of it.  So when I saw a twitter post the other day about a Silverlight Client for Facebook, I was intrigued.  My initial thought was “what is that?”  So I went to the site and downloaded the application and read up more on Silverlight.  Well, for those of you that don’t know Silverlight, to put it in simple terms, is a plugin that provides similar functionalities to Adobe Flash.  It helps integrate graphics and animation into a user client.  Silverlight is made by Microsoft and the nice thing about it is that it is made to run on any operating system.

Ok, enough about all this Silverlight buggaboo, you just want to know more about the app, right?  Well, the application itself was pretty slick.  It keeps all of the major features of Facebook (commenting, like button, updating status, looking at pics and movies) and puts it in a pretty sweet looking UI.

As you can see from the picture above, this app looks like a souped up version of Facebook.  You have your standard News Feed in the middle and the options to choose other links to the left and in the top, but one thing that I thought was nice was the different feed viewing options.  If you look on the top right you see “full feed”, “grid”, and “photos feed.”  I really like that they put this option in.  It gives the user more options.  Also, on the right there, Silverlight puts a collage of recent pics from your friends in the right hand column, which is a nice touch as well.  The major plus about this app is that like I said before, you can do everything you need to for Facebook right from the app, there is no need to go into Facebook online, unless you want to play a Facebook game.

(Grid View)

The only gripe I have about the app is that, I can’t use my scroll wheel to scroll up and down through my News Feed.  I have to click and drag my mouse or click on the up or down arrow.  I know, not a big deal, but for me, I am so used to using my Magic Mouse to scroll up and down it is kind of a bummer I can’t do this.  The other thing that I don’t like about the dragging or clicking, the flow is kind of choppy as you drag or click up and down.  There is no other way for me to explain this, you have to see it for yourself.

Other than that I really like the app itself.  It is a great addition to Facebook and best of all it is free.  All you need to do is download Sliverlight first.  Once you download it from the link, you need to refresh the page and then the Facebook app will automatically download.  If it doesn’t, then just close your browser and go back to the site again and it should start to automatically download.  If you need the link to the site, here it is http://bit.ly/91y6TG

Hit the video below to give you a better idea of how the app works.  Any questions, feel free to leave comments or Twitter me @shaun_27.

