As most of you already know there are a lot of Twitter applications period and a new one seems to come out at least once or twice a month, if not more, if you count iphone apps.  Now, specifically for the Mac, there also are a lot of Twitter applications/clients.  In fact you can google “Twitter Mac Clients” and get a ton a suggestions on all the twitter clients that are out there for the Mac.  So why do another review on an already crowded twitter client field?  Well, to be perfectly honest, to give people choice, to give them an awareness of what is out there.  To me, that is the most fun part about it, to find the “perfect” Twitter app that is just right for us!  That is really the reason why there are so many twitter clients out there.  Many different people have many different expectations and nuances of what they want in a Twitter client.  I will explain a few reasons why I liked this particular one below and for some of you, you may not agree with what I like and don’t like, but that is the beauty of having many Twitter apps out there; to give us choice!  Ok, sorry, I digress here.

So, where was I, oh yes, that’s right, Nambu.  Nambu, is a Mac specific Twitter client that has been out for a little while now.  I have been testing their app for about 3 months.  On Jan. 1st they came out with a pretty big update to their application in which they redesigned the icons and got a lot of the bugs out of the application.

Nambu is a pretty straight forward, easy-to-use Twitter Client.  They give you all of the main functions of what twitter.com would give you.  You can customize your screen to see what you what and you can have more than one twitter account.  Nambu will shorten url’s using a wide varitey of url shortening services and will also let you share images and snapshots using Twitpic, img.ly, or yfrog.  You get to choose the url shortening service and image sharing service you want to use.  A small feature, that in my opinion is nice to have is a “trash” button, you can choose to trash your messages if you choose to.  I like this because when I don’t necessarily have time to look at Twitter for a while, the messages pile up and to see where I left off or not can be a hassle at times.  So it is nice to have the option to trash your twitter messages so that way the next time I check Nambu I know that all the messages that are there are all new ones.  Again, minor addition, but for me, a nice one.

Nambu also has in the works a new iphone app as well as something called Nambu Anywhere.  I can’t really tell what Nambu Anywhere really is.  You go in on their website and they give a brief explanation of what they are planning on doing with it, but nothing concrete.

Overall, Nambu has made some good improvements over the past couple of months with the new icons as well as less crashing.  The app has been able to be a lot more stable recently.  Before, it would crash at least a few times a day.  It was getting annoying.  But now I haven’t had a crash since I got the new release.  It is a cool, simple, Mac twitter client.  I can’t wait for the iphone app as well as to see what Nambu Anywhere will develop into. Does Nambu stand out above the other Mac twitter clients?  No, I don’t think so, at the moment.  There is potential for it to be a real solid application, but on the flip side, it can also just fall into the category of “Twitter Client for the Mac”.  But, like I mentioned earlier, it is all about choice and personal preferences.  As much as we are searching for the perfect app, we will never find it.  So, we have to be content with choice and the fact that it is better than nothing.

Thanks for reading, would love any feedback possible.  Feel free to comment, follow me on Twitter @theeasymac or on Facebook Fan Page The Easy Mac.

