A couple of days ago an app on the App Store appeared that really caught my eye.  It is called iVideo Camera, http://bit.ly/7iIi0E.  The app lets you record video from an iphone 2g and 3g.  This is a huge step forward for Apple as they have restricted apps like this in the app store before.  I downloaded the app and started testing it out right away.  The brothers who made the app let you know right away that the app is not perfect. The app only captures video in 3 frames per second, which is pretty slow.  You could also only make videos of up to about a minute.  In my tests, I found that this is true.  The video wasn’t the best quality, and it was pretty choppy, especially if you were moving around a lot.  The app also gives you multiple ways to share your videos as well.  You can share on YouTube, Facebook, and Vimeo, as well as save to your phone or email.  At the moment I tested both YouTube and Facebook and sharing on YouTube would work inconsistently and sharing on Facebook wouldn’t work at alll.  I also tried to email a movie and I could only hear the audio when I emailed it to myself.  So, it looks like for now you can only save the video to your iPhone, which is kind of a bummer.  As far as uploading the video, both WiFi and 3g were pretty fast, and Edge was definitely too slow. The app itself cost $.99.  Laan Labs, who made the app, says there is an update coming with fixes for these bugs as well as making it faster.  I truly think this is a step in the right direction for Apple.  Below are some screen shots of the app and a video in the next post that I made as well.  Check it out and leave your comments.  Do you think this is a good thing?  Worth the price for now?

